top of page


IELTS- An Introduction

IELTS stands for “International English Language Testing System”, which is widely considered the authentic way of assessing one’s English language ability. This examination is taken by people who aspire to work; study or live in an English speaking country.  It is owned by Cambridge Assessment English (Part of the University of Cambridge), The British Council; IDP Australia education pt. Limited). This examination is written by Candidates who aspire to migrate to Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom, the English-speakingUnited States of America, and New Zealand).

Types of IELTS Examination:

There are two kinds of examinations: 1) IELTS General Training;2) IELTS Academic

  1. IELTS General – is written by the candidates who wish to migrate to an English country to train, live or study at below degree level.

  2. IELTS Academic – is written by the candidates who wish to migrate to an English speaking country to study at Undergraduate or Post graduate level or for seeking Professional registration.

Types of Tests:

IELTS exam consists of 4 skills tests


1. Listening;

2. Reading;

3. Writing;

4. Speaking

 (Listening and Speaking do not differ for Academic and General, whereas, Reading and Writing do.)

Exam Pattern:


General Training & Academic


4 sections (i.e) 4 tasks

40 Questions [Split as 10 for each task]

30 minutes exam 10 minutes correction (this will differ for CBT)

bottom of page